The Thornton Inn and its Place in Arlington History
The Thornton’s house is one of Arlington’s older homes. Originally constructed in 1905, “The Thornton House” is designated as an official Arlington Landmark by the City, and is a featured stop on the city’s “Tour of Historic Arlington”.
Arlington historical archives recognize the home as the first in Arlington to have gas lights. Running water was added when the City brought water down Abram Street in 1924.
The classical revival architecture was home to the Thornton family and later rented to the Smith family until the mid-1960’s when it was sold to Sigma Phi Beta, a local fraternity. In 1968, national fraternities were allowed at UTA and Sigma Phi Beta became the first local fraternity to affiliate with a national fraternity, Delta Upsilon. In 2005, the University required all Fraternities and Sororities to move on campus.
In 2006, and after a period of vacancy, the building and grounds were acquired by Sunny Graham, the current owner, and a five year renovation was begun to restore the facilities to their near-original architecture for use as a real estate office.
In 2008, the buildings were the location for a short suspense-thriller film, The Brotherhood, released in 2010 about a frat prank that goes wrong. The Brotherhood won the 2010 SXSW Film Festival in Austin and the Dallas Film Festival.
In spring of 2013, the idea of a bed and breakfast was launched as a response to the decline in the local real estate market. After reviewing the history of Arlington and the importance of W. A. Thornton and his family to the area, The Thornton Inn was born.
Enjoy our rich history during your stay!